I’m getting excited…

… Because blackberry season is upon us!

One of the perks of living in the “country” part of Sonoma county is that the five acres I live on is more or less covered with blackberry bushes. And let me tell you, they are not easy to get rid of; they basically devour everything in their path.

Throughout the years my family has tried to mow them, trim them, poison them, and salt them, but the bushes just won’t quit. And quite frankly, I’m grateful for their insistence, because I love me a blackberry pie something fierce.

Towards the end of July they ripen so quickly  that I can hardly get to most of them before they begin to melt in the summer sun – and of course the best ones always seem out of reach. But rest assured, there will be pie. And other blackberry goodness.

I. Can’t. Wait. 

imagephoto

Leave a Reply

Gluten-Free Dreaming Copyright 2011.
