Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free Date-Oat Cookies

DSCN6908

I have a confession: I love dates. Probably more than I should. But what’s not to like? They’re good for you, and one of the few items grown on a tree that tastes better than candy. Perfect for baking.

Now that the weather has finally started to warm up, you might be thinking that heating the house up for a cookie is not the best idea, but trust me, once you try them, you will.

This recipe does make for a pretty sweet cookie but the dates and oats make it a bit healthier. I also like to cut the butter in half by using either applesauce or mashed banana. I’m rather fond of using Splenda (though I know many of you are not) so I’ve also used half-sugar, half-Splenda in a few versions.

DSCN6911

Gluten-free Date-Oat Cookies

   If you are thinking there isn’t much flour in these, you’re right! It makes for a wonderful, moist cookie. Makes about 12; I always double the recipe.*

  • 3/4 cup flour: I used half brown rice, half sorghum
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) Earth Balance or butter-substitute, cut up -0r- 1/4 cup Earth Balance and 1/4 cup applesauce or a ripe mashed banana
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 gluten-free oats
  • 1/2 cup coarsely chopped pitted-dates

DSCN6897Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Sift the flour, baking powder, and salt into a large bowl. Use a pastry cutter (or fork – it took me years to actually buy a cutter) to cut in the butter until batter resembles fine crumbs. If you’re substituting half of the butter, mix in the applesauce/banana now.

Add in the egg, mixing until just blended, Mix in the sugar, oats, and dates. Batter will be sticky and wet.

DSCN6903Drop tablespoons onto a parchment-covered baking sheet and bake for 12-15 minutes, until lightly browned. Cool on the baking sheet until cookies are firm enough to be transferred to a rack. As with most GF cookies, they can be delicate until cooled. Store in the fridge. Yum!DSCN6915

* Recipe adapted from Cookies:1001 Mouthwatering Recipes from Around the World. Not a GF or DF book, but full of amazing cookies ideas!
3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Raquel @ Erecipe.com
    Jun 09, 2011 @ 01:59:15

    I also love dates but when I eat too much I feel dizzy lol. Date is rich in natural fibers, dates also comprise of a lot of other nutrients, like oil, calcium, sulfur, iron, potassium, phosphorous, manganese, copper, magnesium and it is one minimum of a balanced and healthy diet. =)

    Reply

  2. ritatherandom
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 18:00:53

    We had some delicious dates in the house…too many of them – so I decided to bake some cookies. I googled “flourless date oat cookies” and here I was.

    I made them and my whole family loved them. Thanks so much for the great recipe!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Gluten-Free Dreaming Copyright 2011.
