Product Review: Pamela’s Gluten-Free Bread Mix (it teases me)

On a note along the lines of the current weather (rainy), I am getting a cold. I blame Michael: while people who choose social work are generally kind-hearted individuals, they may also come in contact with many germy-children on a daily basis. And then come in contact with you.

But I digress – on to bread!

I heard through the grapevine that Pamela’s Gluten-Free Bread Mix is the best out there, so I gave it a whirl. Interestingly enough if you use a breadmaker you don’t use the GF setting (basic instead) and thus last week learned the value of patience – regular bread takes 3 1/2 hours to make versus the 1 1/2 hour for GF.

 image

Alright, so here’s the deal: this stuff is legit. Real, heavy and dense bread. Thick and chewy. And oddly enough, a 2lb loaf looks a lot like a 1 lb loaf. But there is one caveat: The Calories.

image

Now, I don’t know about y’all, but I tend to consider bread as a side-dish, a complement if you will, not a meal. But at roughly 170 cals per slice plus a spread of some kind, well, that’s more like a breakfast. Not that two slices of this delicious bread couldn’t forma whole breakfast – it can fill you up. There’s a nice amount of fiber too. But man, do I feel a bit guilty. So guilty, I had to put half of the loaf in the freezer so it would stop teasing me.

Does it make me sad that the best bread mix I’ve tried so far that is both gluten and dairy free is not a prime candidate for becoming a diet staple? A little. Dang.

However, I will say; you must try this bread at least once. Cut it in small slices, save it for a special treat. Treat it like a pasty or a muffin. Don’t combine it with a box of Valentine’s Day truffles. image

And toast it. That will cheer you up.

Now, I need to stop thinking about the fact that this mix can be used to make bagels…

Leave a Reply

Gluten-Free Dreaming Copyright 2011.
