Can you be lazy and gluten-free? Sure – you have a savings account, right?

image Sometime in life, you find yourself adding up the money you spend on certain items (note: I exclude shoes from this calculation). And it is at these times when you realize that you can waste away substantial funds on something that you don’t really pay attention to, namely: Food.

Add special dietary restrictions to that equations, and you’re screwed. I often think of how lucky I am to be living in Sonoma County, surrounded by healthy and natural food shopping options – these thoughts oddly enough usually occur whenever I’m forced to enter a Safeway.

image 

Sorry, no cheapy Lean-Cuisine for you, my friend.

 

But even if you have a local Whole Foods you can still lose; you’ll get what you want, but oh, will you pay for it.

My personal, culinary Achilles-Heel? (Yes, that does sound rather disgusting.) Amy’s Kitchen’s meals. Tasty, gluten-free, little meals that zap up in 6 minutes and taste like actual food. They’re even made a few miles from where I live. I’ve gotten into the habit of eating their dinners for dinner most weeknights, and I love that they’re healthy and relatively low-calorie. Really they are the only low-calorie gluten-free meals you can buy in the supermarket. My favorites? imageimage

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

image

For an extra splurge, they even make gluten-free, dairy-free pizza! (about $8).

image

[Author’s Note: Amy’s people, if you are reading this, feel free to send me coupons, free meals, etc :D]

Sadly, the meals hardly ever go on sale (when they did a few months ago, I went a bit crazy) and compared to the other options in the frozen-food aisle, they are priced more like food from the prepared foods section, or even from a restaurant.

Recently I’ve been a bit strapped for cash – blame it on the holidays and the last couple weeks before financial aid checks go out – and so I’ve been cooking at home more. Which means lots of rice, vegetable, potatoes, beans, soup, and more time spent in the kitchen. And, let’s face it, less variety; complicated recipes become much more complicated, and often expensive, when you make them GF. And people, I like to be lazy. I like to have portions measured out. I like to add a cup of veggies to a dish and call it a day.

I also like to not overdraw my checking account.

There are then two choices: pay for quick, easy, and different food; or be cheap and eat the staples. And count calories yourself.

image

You can definitely live the life of a lazy-cook while on a gluten-free diet, but in the end, it’ll cost you a bit more.

P.S. And why, when you Google “gluten-free” does a photo of a toasted bagel come up? That’s just cruel!

Leave a Reply

Gluten-Free Dreaming Copyright 2011.
